My Princess…

No, this isn’t a tale about a damsel in distress or about royalty at all..

No, this princess is my princess, yes, my princess.

My husband is my princess. Yes, go ahead and have a giggle, I know, my princess, but it’s true, I call him “Princess” and it’s not the reason you think it is, or maybe it is, you might be spot on.

Anyway, I call my husband “Princess” because he has more clothes and shoes than I do as well as having to always look good or put together, has to match as well as be comfortable. No big deal, as I am the opposite, as long as I don’t smell like full dumpster in the Kansas July sun, I call it good.

It all started one morning we were running late to get back to the bar for a team pool tournament, trust me, it had been a long weekend with times of games, length of games, on top of it all my husband had to work/close the pool hall after it was all done. We are running out the door when he says he will be right there, yep, I trusted him. Five minutes, six minutes, seven minutes, one honking idiot finally driving around, and here comes my man around the corner, whole new outfit. Yep, new shirt, new jeans, new sweatshirt, so fresh and so clean. We were already late and you can’t really be later if you’re already late. And out it slips from my mouth (mind you, we are still under the first year mark of dating and still learning each others buttons):

“Are you ready now, Princess?”

“The sleeve felt funny…”

“So, a whole new outfit? I’m still wearing the clothes I wore yesterday with a fresh t-shirt and deodorant.”

“I like to look pretty.”

Yep, that’s my man, all 38 years and 363 days of him.

Yeah, you could say this is a birthday post but it’s also a reminder post for him, as well as myself.

This year marks six years that my husband I have been together, not including the year before when we were just friends and in totally different phases of our lives. But six years. My son is the same age as my bonus daughter was when I first met her, and she’s heading to thirteen in just over a month. It’s crazy to think of where we were to where we are now.

We have a house, two dogs, two cats (he’ll says they are my cats because he hates them, he’s a liar), a car payment, credit card debt, big dreams, full bellies, and great kids.

But the truth of the matter is… it still feels like we are dating.

I still get butterflies, I still get giddy, and yes, my now skinny white below average booty lights up like a fan girl when I see my husband… unless I’m mad but that’s another post for another day.

But, yes, while our bodies are snapping, crackling, and popping like rice crispies, we still feel eighteen at heart and in mind. Don’t worry, our bills get paid, the kids are always first, and everyone is happy. If someone isn’t, we discuss it together or with our therapist but we work through it. That’s life.

I would have to say my favorite memory was our wedding day. I’m sure most people would say that, or the birth or their child. Hands down, our wedding was awesome! We had chicken and waffles, a mac ‘n’ cheese bar, red velvet cake, amazing venue, perfect photography, supportive and loving family, handfuls of friends, great music, contagious laughs, and memories worthy of joyful tears. It was wonderful.

If only the amount of time that I put into our wedding, I put into college, I would have my masters. I did, I took our wedding as a challenge, as a goal; I want to have great food, great music, and great pictures at our wedding. Those are my big three because that’s what I remember most from weddings.

The music was my top priority because music is my life, it’s the blood in my veins, the air in my lungs, the skip in my step, I LOVE it. So, music selection for key parts of the “event’ were crucial to me. Asking Princess for input was awesome!

“Honey, what do you feel about this song?” (Who knows what I threw at him, but his answer was one of three things)

“It’s whatever you want, babe.”

Or…

“That’s fine.”

Or…

“I don’t care.”

And my favorite…

“It’s your day, babe.”

No, it’s not, it’s OUR day… OUR DAY! TOGETHER! BOTH!

Yeah, that was me. So finding our first dance song, yeah, a whole bunch of fun! (Sarcasm needs a font, again, another post for another day)

But, together, we found it.

Jason Mraz – I Won’t Give Up

When I look into your eyes
It’s like watching the night sky
Or a beautiful sunrise
There’s so much they hold

And just like them old stars
I see that you’ve come so far
To be right where you are
How old is your soul?

I won’t give up on us
Even if the skies get rough

I’m giving you all my love
I’m still looking up

And when you’re needing your space
To do some navigating
I’ll be here, patiently waiting
To see what you find

‘Cause even the stars, they burn
Some even fall to the Earth
We got a lot to learn
God knows we’re worth it

No, I won’t give up

I don’t wanna be someone who walks away so easily
I’m here to stay and make the difference that I can make
Our differences, they do a lot to teach us how to use the tools

And gifts we got, yeah, we got a lot at stake

And in the end you’re still my friend
At least we did intend for us to work, e didn’t break, we didn’t burn
We had to learn how to bend, without the world caving in
I had to learn what I’ve got and what I’m not, and who I am

I won’t give up on us
Even if the skies get rough
I’m giving you all my love
I’m still looking up
I’m still looking up

Well, I won’t give up on us
(No, I’m not giving up)
God knows I’m tough enough
(I am tough, I am love)

We got a lot to learn
(We’re life, we are love)
God knows we’re worth it
(And we’re worth it)

I won’t give up on us
Even if the skies get rough
I’m giving you all my love
I’m still looking up

Read more: https://www.letssingit.com/jason-mraz-lyrics-i-won-t-give-up-bfxwcwg#ixzz4ZkUASmnu
LetsSingIt – Your favorite Music Community

 

On November 15th, 2014, I married my best friend.

This Monday, my Princess turns 39, his last year of his thirties. So that gives me a year to plan something huge for the big 4-0! But for now, I’ll sit on my laptop, hanging out at Shooters in our town, while you run a pool tournament, during our kid free weekend. Planning tomorrow’s dinner for the crock pot as well as dishes and other cleaning chores that need to be done. And figure out how to get Princess to smile more than once a day, or at least laugh out loud, for his birthday. While he looks at more shoes and boots and drives me crazy, I still love him.

He’s my princess, my spoiled rotten big baby princess. I try to take care of him, and he knows it. This is just a snippet, really. I could go on and on but I won’t tonight. I’ll just sit here and say encouraging things to him while he runs and plays billiards, and I’ll have to calm him down when he gets too hot-headed but I can’t blame him, I get made about the same things he does when it comes to pool, but I can’t execute most skills like he can so his frustration is understandable, but that’s what I’ll try to do, I can only sit for so long…

And he plays better when I’m not in the building… silly, husband, he says he likes having me around but his game drops a bit, the show-off.

Happy Birthday, Princess! This weekend we are celebrating you and all your 39 years of awesomeness!

I stand corrected… Princess isn’t allowed to play in tonight’s tournament… he’s ranked too high… well, one less worry

Here’s to the weekend, and many more birthdays!

Leave a Reply

WordPress.com.

Up ↑

